Patrick Cramer

Patrick Cramer

CV Patrick Cramer
Lectures Patrick Cramer
Research Summary Patrick Cramer
Full List of Publications Patrick Cramer

Born on February 3, 1969 in Stuttgart. Study of chemistry at the Universities of Stuttgart and Heidelberg. Research student at the University of Bristol (UK) and Cambridge (UK). Diploma in chemistry in 1995 at the University of Heidelberg, doctorate at the University of Heidelberg/EMBL Grenoble (France) in 1998. Predoctoral fellow in Grenoble (France) from 1995 to 1998, postdoctoral fellow at Stanford University (USA) from 1999 to 2001. Tenure-track professor of biochemistry at the University of Munich from 2001 to 2003. Professor of biochemistry at the University of Munich from 2004 to 2014. Director of the Gene Center of the University of Munich (LMU) from 2004 to 2013. Director at the Max Planck Institute of Biophysical Chemistry since 2014.

Awards and Honors

Craig Jordan Lectureship, University of Oxford, UK  (2018)
Kjeldgard Lectureship, University of Aarhus, Denmark (2018)
Inaugural George William Jourdian Lectureship, University of Michigan (2018)
Elected Member, Academia Europaea (2017)
Weigle Lectureship, University of Geneva (2017)
Honorary Professor, University of Göttingen (2017)
Centenary Award of the British Biochemical Society (2016)
Advanced Investigator Grant of the European Research Council ERC (2016)
Class of 1942 James B. Sumner Lectureship (2015)
Arthur Burkhardt Prize (2015)
Guest Professor at Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden (2015)
Cross of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany (Bundesverdienstkreuz) (2012)
Paula und Richard von Hertwig-Preis (2012)
Vallee Foundation Visiting Professorship (2012)
Feldberg Foundation Prize (2011)
European Research Council (ERC) Advanced Investigator (2010)
Medal of Honor of the Robert Koch Institute (2010)
Elected member of EMBO (2009)
Member of the German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina (2009)
Ernst-Jung-Preis für Medizin (2009)
Familie-Hansen-Award, Bayer Science & Education Foundation (2009)
Bijvoet Medal, University of Utrecht (2008)
Steinhofer Lecture, University of Freiburg (2007)
Philip-Morris Research Award (2007)
Gottfried-Wilhelm-Leibniz Award, Dt. Forschungsgemeinschaft (2006)
10th Eppendorf Award for Young European Researchers (2004)
GlaxoSmithKline Science Award (2002)
EMBO Young Investigator (2000)
MSC Future Investigator Award (2000)

Professional Service

- Co-organizer, Keystone Symposium “Gene regulation: From Mechanisms to Disease” (2020)
- Co-organizer, EMBO/EMBL Symposium “From Multiomics to Biological Insights” (2019)
- Organizer, Cold Spring Harbor Conference “Mechanisms of Eukaryotic Transcription” (2019)
- Member, Scientific Advisory Board, Gulbenkian Institute of Science, Lisbon, Portugal (2020-2022)
- Vice-spokesperson, Cluster of Excellence on Multiscale Bioimaging (2018-)
- Member, Scientific Advisory Board, Peter-und-Traudl-Engelhorn Foundation (2018-)
- Chair, Perspectives Commission of the Max Planck Society, Biomedical section (2018)
- Initiator and coordinator, International Max Planck Research School for Genome Science (2017-2021)
- Member, Advisory Editorial Board, Molecular Systems Biology (2017-)
- Member, Scientific Advisory Board, Bejing Advanced Innovation Center for Structural Biology (2017 - 2019)
- Co-organizer, EMBO conference on Chromatin and Epigenetics (2017)
- Member, Scientific Advisory Board, Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine, Berlin (2016 -)
- Ad hoc advisor, Medical Faculty of the University of Cologne (2016)
- Organizer, Max Planck Intersectional symposium "Biological Networks" (2016)
- Chair, EMBL Council (2016-)
- Editorial Board Member, Cell (2016-)
- Co-organizer and Session Chair, Volkswagen Foundation Conference "Life?" (2015)
- Member, Board of reviewing editors, eLife (2015-)
- Organizer, Leopoldina Workshop "Structural Biology Infrastructure in Germany" (2015)
- Vice Speaker, Göttingen Graduate School for Neuroscience and Molecular Biology" (2015 -)
- Ad hoc advisor, Herz Foundation Hamburg (2015)
- Organizer, Cold Spring Harbor Meeting on Mechanisms of Eukaryotic Transcription (2015)
- Organizer, Keystone symposium on ‘Hybrid methods in structural biology’, Lake Tahoe, USA (2015).
- Member, Perspectives Commission of the Max Planck Society, (2014 - 2017)
- Ad hoc member of the scientific advisory board of the Friedrich Miescher Institute, Basel, Switzerland (2014)
- Member, award committee for the Otto-Bayer-Prize, Bayer Science and Education Foundation (since 2014)
- Member, review panel, Berlin Institutes of Health BIH (2013)
- Member, Council, European Molecular Biology Laboratory EMBL (since 2012)
- Tutor (Vertrauensdozent), Elite Academy of Bavaria (2012-2014)
- Initiator and coordinator, Bavarian Research Center for Molecular Biosystems (2011-2014)
- Organizer, 104th International Titisee Conference “Genomic regulation” (2011)
- Member, Scientific Advisory Board, Biochemistry Center Heidelberg (since 2011)
- Director, Department of Biochemistry at Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (2010-2013)
- Member, editorial board of Transcription (since 2010)
- Member, Zukunftsrat der Bayerischen Staatsregierung (2010-2011)
- Organizer, EMBO Conference on Gene Transcription in Yeast, St. Feliu, Spain, 2010
- Member, Scientific advisory board, Center for Structural Systems Biology Hamburg (since 2010)
- Member, Scientific Advisory Board of the Max-Planck-Institute for Developmental Biology, Tübingen (2009-2013)
- Member, editorial board of The EMBO Journal (since 2009)
- Representative of the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München for construction of the Research Center 
  for Molecular Biosystems (2009-2013)
- Member, selection committee for the Heinz-Maier-Leibniz-Prize of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (since 2008)
- Member, Wissenschaftlich-technischer Beirat der Bayerischen Staatsregierung (2008-2009)
- Coordinator, Research network Sonderforschungsbereich SFB646 (2008-2014)
- Dean, Faculty of Chemistry and Pharmacy of the LMU (2007-2009)
- Member, research board (Forschungsrat) of the LMU (2007-2013)
- Executive board member, German National Cluster of Excellence “Center for Integrated Protein Science Munich” (2006-2013)
- Vice coordinator, Sonderforschungsbereich SFB646 (2005-2007)
- Member, Cluster of excellence “Nanosystems Initiative Munich” (2006-2014)
- Director, Gene Center, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (2004-2013)
- Member, Scientific Advisory Board of the Swiss Light Source (2004-2006)
- Board member, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (2005-2007)
- Board member, Faculty of Chemistry and Pharmacy, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (2002-2013)
- Member, board of the Research grant network Transregio 5 “Chromatin” (2003-2006)
- Referee for beamtime allocation at the Swiss Light Source (2004)
- Referee for scientific journals, including Science, Nature, Cell (since 2000)
- Referee for funding bodies including DFG, NSF, NIH, Wellcome Trust, EU, AvH, BIF etc. (since 2001)
- External reviewer for the Department of Structural Biology at the Paul-Scherrer-Institute (2002)
- Member, Center for Nanoscience CeNS Munich (since 2002)
- Member, Deutsche Gesellschaft für Biochemie und Molekularbiologie GBM (since 2001)

Go to Editor View