About Stefan Hell

About Stefan Hell

Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2014


Stefan W. Hell (born in 1962) received his doctorate in physics from the University of Heidelberg in 1990, followed by a research stay at the European Molecular Biology Laboratory in Heidelberg. From 1993 to 1996, he worked as a senior researcher at the University of Turku, Finland, where he developed the principle of STED microscopy. In 1997, he moved to the Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry in Göttingen (Germany), where he set up his current research group dedicated to sub-diffraction-resolution microscopy. He was appointed a Max Planck Director in 2002 and currently leads the Department of NanoBiophotonics at the MPI for Biophysical Chemistry and the Department of Optical Nanoscopy at the MPI for Medical Research in Heidelberg (Germany). 

Honors and Awards

Stefan Hell has received numerous national and international awards, including the Prize of the International Commission for Optics (2000), the Carl Zeiss Research Award (2002), the Innovation Award of the German Federal President (2006), the Julius Springer Award for Applied Physics (2007), the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize (2008), the Lower Saxony State Award (2008), the Otto Hahn Prize for Physics (2009), the Ernst Hellmut Vits Prize (2010), the Familie-Hansen-Prize (2011), the Körber European European Science Prize (2011), the Gothenburg Lise Meitner Prize (2010/11), the Science Prize of the Fritz Behrens Foundation (2012), the Paul Karrer Medal (2013), the Carus Medal of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina (2013) and the Kavli Prize in Nanoscience (2014). He was elected into the Hall of Fame der deutschen Forschung in 2014. Stefan Hell has honorary doctorates from the Universities of Turku (Finland) and Vasile Goldis (Romania) as well as the from University Polytehnica of Bucharest (Romania). He was elected as Lifetime Member of the Optical Society of America (OSA) in 2014. The European Physical Society appointed him as Honorary Member in 2014. Since 2015, he is also Honorary Member of the German Bunsen Society for Physical Chemistry. 


Go to Editor View