Carmen Rotte
Press spokesman, head of public relations
Phone:+49 551 201-1304Fax:+49 551 201-1151
Frederik Köpper
Public Relations Office - currently on parental leave -
Phone:+49 551 201-1310Fax:+49 551 201-1151
Alina Dressler
Public Relations Office
Phone:+49 551 201-1308Fax:+49 551 201-1151

Research News and Awards

Press Releases

Teaser 1488801283

Göttingen gets new International Max Planck Research School for Genome Science

March 06, 2017
In fall this year, a new graduate school will start at the Göttingen Campus: the International Max Planck Research School (IMPRS) for Genome Science. Patrick Cramer, Director at the MPI for Biophysical Chemistry, is spokesman of the program. The IMPRS for Genome Science combines state-of-the-art experimental and computational methods in their doctoral training. Interested students can apply until April 15th, 2017. [more]
Teaser 1488290385

Enhancing carbon-13 NMR signals in liquids

February 28, 2017
A research team headed by Marina Bennati at the MPI for Biophysical Chemistry, together with colleagues at the University of Florence (Italy), has shown that 13C NMR spectroscopy signals can be strongly enhanced in solution by resonant microwave irradiation of a nitroxide organic radical used as polarizer for 13C nuclei. The new method shows up to 1000-fold improvements in sensitivity and promises to study small molecules and metabolites in much greater detail. [more]
Teaser 1485948643

Jacob Henle Medal for Jens Frahm

January 31, 2017
Jens Frahm, Director of the Biomedizinische NMR Forschungs-GmbH at the MPI for Biophysical Chemistry receives the Jacob Henle Medal of the University Medical Center Göttingen. The physicist is thereby honored for his lifework in the field of magnetic resonance imaging. The award ceremony takes place on February 3, 2017, at the University Medical Center Göttingen. (in German) [more]
Teaser 1485364061

Scientists develop new mode of action for photovoltaics

January 24, 2017
An interdisciplinary team of scientists has invented a completely new type of photovoltaics. The method converts infrared light into electric power. The solar cell contains the mineral Perovskite and its mode of action is based on polaron excitations. These are combined excitations of electrons and lattice vibrations of the solid. The method was developed by scientists of the University of Göttingen, the MPI for Biophysical Chemistry, the Clausthal University of Technology, and the German Electron Synchrotron (DESY) in Hamburg. (in German) [more]
Teaser 1484557495

Deeper look into a protein

January 13, 2017
Max Planck researchers from Erlangen and Göttingen have used the so-called COLD fluorescence microscopy method to visualize structures of proteins with less than five Angstrom resolution. COLD achieves this high precision in detail because it works at minus 270 degrees Celsius. At this temperature the signals of the luminous proteins are more intense and can thus be located more accurately. Applying this method structural changes of proteins  associated with diseases can be made visible in vitro. (in German) [more]
Teaser 1483698191

Tobias Moser receives Ernst Jung Prize for Medicine 2017

January 06, 2017
Tobias Moser from Göttingen receives this year’s Ernst Jung Prize for Medicine. The Jung Society for Science and Research thereby honors the neuroscientist’s cutting-edge work about signal transmission in the inner ear and his innovative concepts for treating deafness. (in German) [more]
Teaser 1482433521

Researchers achieve ultimate resolution limit in fluorescence microscopy

December 22, 2016
Scientists around Stefan Hell at the MPI for Biophysical Chemistry have developed a new fluorescence microscope, called MINFLUX, allowing, for the first time, to optically separate molecules, which are only nanometers (one millionth of a millimeter) apart from each other. This microscope is more than 100 times sharper than conventional light microscopy and surpasses even the best super-resolution light microscopy methods to date, namely STED and PALM/STORM, by up to 20 times. [more]
Teaser 1483540407

Physics talents meet physics experts

December 14, 2016
Federal winners of the contest Jugend forscht visited the Göttingen Max Planck Campus. Twelve young physics talents from all over Germany met scientists including Nobel laureate Stefan Hell at the Max Planck Institutes for Biophysical Chemistry as well as for Dynamics and Self-Organization and gained important insight into their current research. (in German) [more]
Teaser 1480580047

Molecular "Tai-Chi" for highest precision

December 01, 2016
Researchers around Holger Stark and Niels Fischer of the MPI for Biophysical Chemistry, together with colleagues, succeeded to visualize complex movements at the ribosome which explain its astounding accuracy in cellular protein production. They were able to elucidate in atomic detail how the ribosome reliably integrates the correct amino acid into a protein. [more]
Teaser 1479724377

Reinhard Jahn receives Balzan Prize 2016

November 21, 2016
This year's Balzan Prize in the field of "Molecular and Cellular Neurosciences" endowed with 750,000 Swiss Francs was awarded to Reinhard Jahn, Director at the MPI for Biophysical Chemistry. The "International Foundation Balzan Prize" honors the neurobiologist with this award for his groundbreaking work on transmission of signals between nerve cells. (in German) [more]
Teaser 1479381187

Jens Frahm elected into the Hall of Fame der deutschen Forschung

November 17, 2016
With the election the manager magazin honors the physicist for his ground-breaking advancements of nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) tomography. He is the third scientist of the MPI for Biophysical Chemistry, besides Manfred Eigen and Stefan Hell, who was elected into the Hall of Fame der deutschen Forschung(in German) [more]
Teaser 1475148708

Ribosomal quality control

September 29, 2016
Formation of macromolecular machines within cells is often a complicated endeavor. Biochemists of the University of Würzburg and the MPI for Biophysical Chemistry have now unraveled new details of these processes. They show that cells invest a great deal of effort into preventing production errors. [more]
loading content