Kontakt

Lührmann_Portrait.jpg
Reinhard Lührmann
Direktor

Vita

profile_image
Juliane Moses
Sekretariat
Telefon:+49 551 201-1405Fax:+49 551 201-1197
E-Mail:jmoses@...
profile_image
Berthold Kastner
Koordinator
Telefon:+49 551 201-1313Fax:+49 551 201-1197

Forschungsgruppen

Reinhard Lührmann

Zelluläre Biochemie

Struktur und Funktion von Spleißosomen    

Die Bildung von Proteinen in Zellen höherer Lebewesen ist ein komplexer, mehrstufiger Vorgang. Zunächst wird die genetische Information für ein Protein von der DNA in eine Arbeitskopie, die Precursor-Boten-RNA (Prä-mRNA), umgeschrieben. Diese RNA Kopien können jedoch erst dann für die Proteinherstellung verwendet werden, wenn durch präzisen Zuschnitt die nicht benötigten internen Bereiche, sogenannte „Introns“, entfernt und die informationsrelevanten Bereiche, „Exons“, neu verknüpft worden sind. Dieser Reifungsprozess wird als mRNA-Spleißen bezeichnet. Erst diese reife mRNA kann aus dem Zellkern ins Zytoplasma transportiert werden und den Ribosomen als Matrize zur Bildung von Proteinen dienen. Diese Exon-Intron-Anordnung bietet dem Organismus große Vorteile: Durch alternatives Spleißen, das heißt durch wahlweises Verknüpfen unterschiedlicher Exons, können von einem Gen mRNAs für verschiedene Proteine hergestellt werden. Alternatives Spleißen stellt damit eine zusätzliche Ebene der Regulation der Genexpression dar, die die genetische Kapazität höherer Eukaryonten enorm erhöht. Dies erklärt auch, warum der Mensch mit etwas mehr als nur 20.000 proteinkodierenden Genen in seinem Genom auskommt.

Die mRNA-Spleißreaktion erfolgt in zwei Schritten über Phosphoester-Transferreaktionen und wird im Zellkern durch die molekulare Maschine des Spleißosoms bewerkstelligt. Spleißosomen setzen sich aus weit über 100 Proteinen und fünf kleinen RNA-Molekülen (den snRNAs U1, U2, U4, U5 und U6) zusammen und sind damit gigantische, sehr proteinreiche Nanomaschinen. Viele dieser Bausteine sind in stabilen Subkomplexen organisiert. So lagern sich z. B. ca. 50 spleißosomale Proteine mit den snRNAs zu RNA-Proteinpartikeln, den snRNPs (small nuclear ribonucleoproteins) U1, U2 und dem U4/U6.U5 tri-snRNP, zusammen.

Abb. 1: Zusammenlagerung des Spleißosoms durch schrittweise Bindung der U-snRNPs an ein Intron. In der frühen Phase der Spleißosomen-Zusammenlagerung binden die snRNPs U1 und U2 an die 5‘ Spleißstelle (5‘ SS: Übergang von Exon 1 zum Intron) bzw. den so genannten Verzweigungspunkt (VP) am 3‘ Ende des Introns (Komplex A). Durch Anlagerung des U4/U6.U5 tri-snRNP-Komplexes entsteht der katalytische B Komplex. Die katalytische Aktivierung des Spleißosoms erfolgt in zwei Schritten, wobei zunächst durch Aktion der RNA Helikase Brr2 der B<sup>act</sup> Komplex entsteht. Dieser wird durch die RNA Helikase Prp2 in den B* Komplex überführt, der ein funktionelles aktives Zentrum enthält und unter Rekrutierung des Cwc25 den ersten Spleißschritt katalysiert. Dabei wird die Phophodiesterbindung an der 5‘ Spleißstelle gespalten und gleichzeitig das 5‘ Ende des Introns mit der 2‘ Hydroxyl-Gruppe eines Adenosins am Verzweigungspunkt verknüpft. Als nächstes überführt die RNA Helikase Prp16 das Spleißosom in den C* Komplex, der mit Hilfe der Proteine Slu7 und Prp18 den 2. katalytischen Schritt der Spleißreaktion vollzieht. In diesem Schritt wird die Phophodiesterbindung an der 3‘ Spleißstelle (3‘ SS: Übergang zwischen Intron und Exon 2) gespalten unter gleichzeitiger Verknüpfung der beiden Exons. Das Intron wird als Lassostruktur (Lariat) aus dem spleißosomalen Komplex entlassen, und die snRNPs U4, U6 und U5 müssen für den nächsten Spleißschritt wieder in den U4/U6.U5 tri-snRNP-Komplex überführt werden. Die Dissoziationsphase des Spleißosoms erfordert die Aktion der RNA Helikasen Prp22 und 43. Bild vergrößern
Abb. 1: Zusammenlagerung des Spleißosoms durch schrittweise Bindung der U-snRNPs an ein Intron. In der frühen Phase der Spleißosomen-Zusammenlagerung binden die snRNPs U1 und U2 an die 5‘ Spleißstelle (5‘ SS: Übergang von Exon 1 zum Intron) bzw. den so genannten Verzweigungspunkt (VP) am 3‘ Ende des Introns (Komplex A). Durch Anlagerung des U4/U6.U5 tri-snRNP-Komplexes entsteht der katalytische B Komplex. Die katalytische Aktivierung des Spleißosoms erfolgt in zwei Schritten, wobei zunächst durch Aktion der RNA Helikase Brr2 der Bact Komplex entsteht. Dieser wird durch die RNA Helikase Prp2 in den B* Komplex überführt, der ein funktionelles aktives Zentrum enthält und unter Rekrutierung des Cwc25 den ersten Spleißschritt katalysiert. Dabei wird die Phophodiesterbindung an der 5‘ Spleißstelle gespalten und gleichzeitig das 5‘ Ende des Introns mit der 2‘ Hydroxyl-Gruppe eines Adenosins am Verzweigungspunkt verknüpft. Als nächstes überführt die RNA Helikase Prp16 das Spleißosom in den C* Komplex, der mit Hilfe der Proteine Slu7 und Prp18 den 2. katalytischen Schritt der Spleißreaktion vollzieht. In diesem Schritt wird die Phophodiesterbindung an der 3‘ Spleißstelle (3‘ SS: Übergang zwischen Intron und Exon 2) gespalten unter gleichzeitiger Verknüpfung der beiden Exons. Das Intron wird als Lassostruktur (Lariat) aus dem spleißosomalen Komplex entlassen, und die snRNPs U4, U6 und U5 müssen für den nächsten Spleißschritt wieder in den U4/U6.U5 tri-snRNP-Komplex überführt werden. Die Dissoziationsphase des Spleißosoms erfordert die Aktion der RNA Helikasen Prp22 und 43. [weniger]

Spleißosomen existieren im Zellkern nicht als vorgefertigte Maschinen, sondern werden auf jedem zu spleißenden Intron jeweils von neuem aus ihren Bausteinen aufgebaut (Abb 1). Zunächst erkennen und binden die snRNPs U1 und U2 zusammen mit einigen Helferproteinen Anfang und Ende eines Introns. Die Bindung des U4/U6.U5 tri-snRNP führt dann zur Ausbildung des sogenannten B Komplexes. Dieser Multi-Mega-Dalton-Komplex besitzt jedoch noch kein aktives katalytisches Zentrum. Schrittweise dramatische Strukturänderungen des  B Komplex Spleißosoms verändern die Konformationen der snRNAs und die ursprüngliche biochemische Zusammensetzung des B Komplexes. Dabei bildet sich ein komplexes Netzwerk von RNA-RNA-Wechselwirkungen zwischen der Prä-mRNA und den snRNAs U2, U5 und U6 aus, das als Herzstück des katalytischen Zentrums zu betrachten ist (Abb. 2). Das katalytisch aktivierte Spleißosom ist jetzt in der Lage, den ersten Schritt der Spleißreaktion zu vollziehen, wobei das C Komplex Spleißosom entsteht. Nachdem der zweite katalytische Schritt erfolgt ist, wird  das Spleißosom zusammen mit dem herausgeschnittenen Intron von der reifen mRNA abgelöst und in seine Einzelteile dissoziiert. Sowohl snRNAs als auch spleißosomale Proteine sind für die Funktion des Spleißosoms essentiell. So sind sie u. a. an der Erkennung der Spleißstellen und der Ausbildung des katalytischen Zentrums beteiligt. Weiterhin sind eine Reihe energieverbrauchender Enzyme, sogenannte RNA-Helikasen, entscheidend an den schrittweise erfolgenden Umlagerungen des Spleißosoms beteiligt (Abb. 1).

<p>Abb. 2: Dynamik des spleißosomalen RNA-RNA-Netzwerks. Gezeigt sind die wichtigsten RNA-Basenpaarungen im prä-katalytischen B Komplex (linkes Bild) und im aktivierten Spleißosom (rechtes Bild). Für die Aktivierung des Spleißosoms werden die Basenpaarungen zwischen U4- und U6-snRNA sowie zwischen U1-snRNA und der 5‘ Spleißstelle dissoziiert. Dafür geht U6-snRNA mit U2-snRNA und der 5‘ Spleißstelle neue Basenpaarungen ein. Dieses RNA-Netzwerk stellt den Kern des katalytischen Zentrums dar (gelb unterlegt). Die Positionierung der 5‘ Spleißstelle im Exon 1 wird zusätzlich durch Wechselwirkungen der U5-snRNA mit dem 3‘ Ende des Exon 1 unterstützt. Die snRNAs sind cartoonhaft in ihren Sekundärstrukturmodellen gezeigt. Das Intron der pre-mRNA (violett) ist als dünne Linie dargestellt.</p> Bild vergrößern

Abb. 2: Dynamik des spleißosomalen RNA-RNA-Netzwerks. Gezeigt sind die wichtigsten RNA-Basenpaarungen im prä-katalytischen B Komplex (linkes Bild) und im aktivierten Spleißosom (rechtes Bild). Für die Aktivierung des Spleißosoms werden die Basenpaarungen zwischen U4- und U6-snRNA sowie zwischen U1-snRNA und der 5‘ Spleißstelle dissoziiert. Dafür geht U6-snRNA mit U2-snRNA und der 5‘ Spleißstelle neue Basenpaarungen ein. Dieses RNA-Netzwerk stellt den Kern des katalytischen Zentrums dar (gelb unterlegt). Die Positionierung der 5‘ Spleißstelle im Exon 1 wird zusätzlich durch Wechselwirkungen der U5-snRNA mit dem 3‘ Ende des Exon 1 unterstützt. Die snRNAs sind cartoonhaft in ihren Sekundärstrukturmodellen gezeigt. Das Intron der pre-mRNA (violett) ist als dünne Linie dargestellt.

[weniger]

Ein wesentliches Ziel unserer Forschung liegt darin, die Funktionsweise und Struktur der Spleißmaschinerie zu verstehen.  Dabei steht zum Einen die Frage im Vordergrund, wie die Strukturumwandlungen des Spleißosoms während seines Arbeitszyklus vonstattengehen und wie sie reguliert werden. Zum Anderen wollen wir die Frage klären, wie das katalytische Zentrum des Spleißosoms aufgebaut ist, d. h. besteht es wie bei einem Ribozym nur aus RNA-Bestandteilen, oder agiert es eher wie ein RNP Enzym, in dem RNA und Proteine gleichermaßen zur Katalyse beitragen? Um diese Fragen beantworten zu können, verwenden wir einen integrierten experimentellen Ansatz, der ein breites methodisches Spektrum umfasst. So analysieren wir die Funktion der Proteine und snRNA Moleküle beim Spleißen mit biochemischen und molekulargenetischen Methoden, wobei wir uns vornehmlich auf die Untersuchung von Spleißosomen aus Humanzellen und der Bäckerhefe konzentrieren. Gleichzeitig untersuchen wir mit der Kryo-Elektronenmikroskopie und der Röntgenkristallografie sowie mit massenspektrometrischen und fluoreszenzspektroskopischen Methoden die Raumstruktur und strukturelle Dynamik isolierter Spleißosomen.

 
loading content

Contact

Lührmann_Portrait.jpg
Reinhard Lührmann
Director

Curriculum Vitae

profile_image
Juliane Moses
Assistant
Phone:+49 551 201-1405Fax:+49 551 201-1197
profile_image
Berthold Kastner
Coordinator
Phone:+49 551 201-1313Fax:+49 551 201-1197

Research Groups

Yearbook Articles (in German)

Reinhard Lührmann

Cellular Biochemistry

The production of proteins in the cells of higher organisms is a complex process involving many steps. First, the genetic information for a protein is re written from DNA into a working copy, the precursor messenger RNA (pre mRNA). However, pre-mRNAs contain regions that do not contain information used for the production of proteins (the so-called “introns”). These regions must be precisely cut out and the remaining regions, which contain usable information (the “exons”), linked together. This maturation process is termed "pre-mRNA splicing”. Only mature mRNAs, that are transported from the cell nucleus into the cytoplasm, can be used by the ribosome as a template for the production of proteins.


The presence of exons and introns is a great advantage for an organism, as different combinations of exons from a given pre-mRNA species can be chosen to be included in the mature mRNA product. In this way, mRNAs corresponding to many different proteins can be made from a single gene. This so-called alternative splicing represents an additional level at which gene expression can be regulated, and leads to an enormous increase in the genetic capacity of higher eucaryotes. This explains why humans manage with only just over 20,000 protein-encoding genes in their genomes. Understanding splicing at the molecular level is of great medical relevance, as aberrant pre-mRNA splicing is the basis or a severity modifier of a plethora of human diseases.


The pre-mRNA splicing reaction takes place in two steps. Both involve phosphoester-transfer reactions, and both are carried out by a macromolecular machine, the spliceosome. Spliceosomes consist of well over 100 proteins and five small RNA molecules (the snRNAs U1, U2, U4, U5 and U6) and thus consist largely of protein. Many of the spliceosome's components are organised into smaller, stable sub-complexes. For example, about 50 of the spliceosomal proteins are stably bound to the snRNAs, forming RNA–protein particles (termed small nuclear ribonucleoproteins or snRNPs) which include the U1 and U2 snRNPs and the U4/U6.U5 tri-snRNP.

<p>Assembly of the spliceosome by the stepwise binding of the snRNPs to the pre-mRNA. In the early phase of spliceosome assembly, the U1 snRNP binds to the 5' splice site (5' SS: where exon 1 ends and the intron begins), and the U2 snRNP binds to the so-called branch point (BP: near the 3' end of the intron). This spliceosome assembly intermediate is called the A complex. The subsequent binding of the U4/U6.U5 tri snRNP complex gives rise to the precatalytic B complex. The catalytic activation of the spliceosome takes place in two steps. In the first, the RNA helicase Brr2 acts to produce the B<sup>act</sup> complex and in the second, the RNA helicase Prp2 facilitates the formation of the B* complex. This has a functional active site and, following the recruitment of the protein Cwc25, the first step of splicing takes place. In this step, the phosphodiester bond at the 5' splice site is cleaved and, at the same time, the 5' end of the intron becomes linked to the 2' hydroxyl group of an adenosine at the branch point. In the next step, the RNA helicase Prp16 converts the spliceosome to the C* complex, which – with the help of the proteins Prp18 and Slu7 – carries out the second catalytic step of the splicing reaction. In this step, the phosphodiester bond at the 3' splice site (3' SS: where the intron ends and exon 2 begins) is cleaved and at the same time the two exons are joined to one another. The intron is released from the spliceosomal complex in the form of a lasso (lariat) and the snRNPs are recycled for subsequent rounds of splicing.  The dissociation phase of the spliceosome requires catalysis by the RNA helicases Prp22 and 43.  "ATP" indicates the steps that require ATP molecules as a source of chemical energy.<span size="2" color="black" face="Calibri" style="color: black; font-family: Calibri; font-size: x-small;"><br /></span></p> Zoom Image

Assembly of the spliceosome by the stepwise binding of the snRNPs to the pre-mRNA. In the early phase of spliceosome assembly, the U1 snRNP binds to the 5' splice site (5' SS: where exon 1 ends and the intron begins), and the U2 snRNP binds to the so-called branch point (BP: near the 3' end of the intron). This spliceosome assembly intermediate is called the A complex. The subsequent binding of the U4/U6.U5 tri snRNP complex gives rise to the precatalytic B complex. The catalytic activation of the spliceosome takes place in two steps. In the first, the RNA helicase Brr2 acts to produce the Bact complex and in the second, the RNA helicase Prp2 facilitates the formation of the B* complex. This has a functional active site and, following the recruitment of the protein Cwc25, the first step of splicing takes place. In this step, the phosphodiester bond at the 5' splice site is cleaved and, at the same time, the 5' end of the intron becomes linked to the 2' hydroxyl group of an adenosine at the branch point. In the next step, the RNA helicase Prp16 converts the spliceosome to the C* complex, which – with the help of the proteins Prp18 and Slu7 – carries out the second catalytic step of the splicing reaction. In this step, the phosphodiester bond at the 3' splice site (3' SS: where the intron ends and exon 2 begins) is cleaved and at the same time the two exons are joined to one another. The intron is released from the spliceosomal complex in the form of a lasso (lariat) and the snRNPs are recycled for subsequent rounds of splicing.  The dissociation phase of the spliceosome requires catalysis by the RNA helicases Prp22 and 43.  "ATP" indicates the steps that require ATP molecules as a source of chemical energy.

[less]

Spliceosomes do not exist in the cell nucleus as complete, pre-formed complexes. Rather, a new spliceosome is built up from its components around each intron that requires excision (Figure 1). First, the U1 and U2 snRNPs recognize and bind the 5'ss and of the pre-mRNA. The resulting complex is termed the A complex. Subsequent binding of the U4/U6.U5 tri snRNP leads to the formation of the so-called B complex. However, this multi-megadalton complex still has no catalytically active site. The subsequent catalytic activation of the spliceosome involves dramatic structural rearrangements that lead to changes in the conformations of its snRNAs and also its biochemical composition. During this process, a complex network of RNA–RNA interactions is formed between the pre mRNA and the snRNAs U2, U5 and U6. This network forms the heart of the spliceosome's catalytic center (Figure 2). The catalytically activated spliceosome is now ready to perform the first step of the splicing reaction. The product of this first step is the C complex, which then catalyses the second step. After this, the excised intron and remaining snRNPs are separated from the mature (spliced) mRNA, and the snRNPs are actively released to take part in a new round of splicing.

<p>Figure 2:  Dynamics of the spliceosomal RNA–RNA network. The figure shows the most important RNA base-pairing interactions as "ladders" in the pre-catalytic complex B (on the left) and in the activated spliceosome (on the right). To activate the spliceosome, the base-pairing between the U4 and U6 snRNAs, and also between the U1 snRNA and the 5' splice site, is disrupted. At the same time the U6 snRNA enters into new base-pairing interactions with the 5' splice site and the U2 snRNA. This RNA network (yellow background) provides the core of the spliceosome's catalytic center. The positioning of the 5' splice site in exon 1 is further supported by interactions between the U5 snRNA and the 3' end of exon 1. The snRNAs are shown schematically according to their known two-dimensional folding. The intron of the pre mRNA is shown as a thin purple line.<span size="2" color="black" face="Calibri" style="color: black; font-family: Calibri; font-size: x-small;"><br /></span></p> Zoom Image

Figure 2:  Dynamics of the spliceosomal RNA–RNA network. The figure shows the most important RNA base-pairing interactions as "ladders" in the pre-catalytic complex B (on the left) and in the activated spliceosome (on the right). To activate the spliceosome, the base-pairing between the U4 and U6 snRNAs, and also between the U1 snRNA and the 5' splice site, is disrupted. At the same time the U6 snRNA enters into new base-pairing interactions with the 5' splice site and the U2 snRNA. This RNA network (yellow background) provides the core of the spliceosome's catalytic center. The positioning of the 5' splice site in exon 1 is further supported by interactions between the U5 snRNA and the 3' end of exon 1. The snRNAs are shown schematically according to their known two-dimensional folding. The intron of the pre mRNA is shown as a thin purple line.

[less]


Both the snRNAs and the spliceosomal proteins are essential for the function of the spliceosome. They are involved in the recognition of the pre-mRNA's splice sites and in the formation of the spliceosome's catalytic center. Furthermore, a number of energy-requiring enzymes – the so-called RNA helicases – play decisive roles in the stepwise structural rearrangements of the spliceosome (Figure 1).


The primary goal of our research is to understand the structure and the function of the splicing machinery. One main question that we wish to address is how the structural rearrangements of the spliceosome during its work cycle are directed and regulated. Another is what is the nature of the catalytic center of the spliceosome – for example, does it consist only of RNA components (like a ribozyme), or do RNA and protein both contribute to catalysis (as in an RNP enzyme)? To answer these questions we are using an integrated experimental approach that involves a broad palette of methods. We are using biochemical and molecular-genetic methods to study the functions of the proteins and snRNA molecules in splicing, mainly by focussing on the spliceosomes of human cells and those of baker's yeast. At the same time we are using electron cryomicroscopy, X-ray crystallography, mass spectrometry, and fluorescence spectroscopy to investigate the spatial organization and the structural dynamics of isolated spliceosomes.


 
loading content