BioDiversum – Biotope at the Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry

A 65 percent decline in birds since 1965, 80 percent in insects since 1980 – this development in Germany is dramatic and has to be stopped. With the BioDiversum, our institute wants to actively contribute its share.

It is an ecological disaster that finally reached public awareness in recent years: The massive decline of birds and insects – both in species and in individuals – threatens nature as we know it, and thus the basis of our life. The phenomenon is not limited to Germany but part of a worldwide, rapid loss of animal and plant species. Around one million species are on the brink of extinction, mainly due to increasingly intensive agriculture and loss of land due to development, settlement, and traffic, which affects plants and animals alike.

Numerous organizations and initiatives are now determined to fight this worrying development. Our institute is becoming active, as well: Our premises at the Faßberg in Göttingen will be ecologically upgraded to create a diverse biotope – a habitat tailored to the needs of animals and plants: the BioDiversum – Biotope at the MPI for Biophysical Chemistry. The project comprises a whole range of measures, from the installation of several hundred nesting boxes and the sowing of flowering meadows to the complete restructuring of fallow land at the northern end of the campus. At the heart of the project will be a pond of about 1500 square meters. The aim is to significantly improve the living conditions for insects and birds, but also for many other animals and plants.

An overview of all measures can be found here.

Go to Editor View

Das BioDiversum – Biotop am Max-Planck-Institut für biophysikalische Chemie

17. März 2020

65 Prozent weniger Vögel seit 1965, 80 Prozent weniger Insekten seit 1980 – diese Entwicklung in Deutschland ist dramatisch und muss gestoppt werden. Unser Institut will mit dem BioDiversum aktiv dazu beitragen.

Es ist eine ökologische Katastrophe, deren Bedeutung in den letzten Jahren auch in das Bewusstsein der breiten Öffentlichkeit gelangt ist: Der massive Rückgang von Vögeln und Insekten – sowohl an Arten als auch an Individuen – bedroht die Natur, wie wir sie kennen, und damit ganz konkret unsere Lebensgrundlage. Das Phänomen ist nicht auf Deutschland beschränkt, sondern Teil eines weltweiten, rapiden Verlusts an Tier- und Pflanzenarten. Rund eine Million Spezies sind vom Aussterben bedroht. Das liegt vor allem an der immer intensiveren Landwirtschaft sowie Flächenverlust durch Überbauung, Besiedlung und Verkehr, der Pflanzen und Tiere gleichermaßen trifft.

Inzwischen stellen sich zahlreiche Organisationen und Initiativen dieser besorgniserregenden Entwicklung entgegen. Auch unser Institut wird aktiv: Wir erschaffen auf unserem Gelände am Göttinger Faßberg ein vielfältiges Biotop – einen auf die Bedürfnisse von Tieren und Pflanzen zugeschnittener Lebensraum: das BioDiversum – Biotop am MPI für biophysikalische Chemie. Das Projekt umfasst eine ganze Reihe an Maßnahmen, vom Anbringen mehrerer Hundert Nistkästen über die Saat von Blühwiesen bis hin zur kompletten Neustrukturierung einer großen Brachfläche am nördlichen Ende des Grundstücks. Herzstück wird ein etwa 1500 Quadratmeter großer Teich sein. Ziel ist es, die Lebensbedingungen für Insekten und Vögel, aber auch für viele andere Tiere und Pflanzen deutlich zu verbessern.

Eine Übersicht aller Maßnahmen finden Sie hier.

Zur Redakteursansicht